K. K. Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich and his reports for the Imperial Archaeological Commission
One report's history: 
main :: biography :: texts :: manuscripts :: photographs :: drawings :: squeezes :: publications :: guestbook :: about
KARL KAZIMIROVICH KOSTSYUSHKO-VALYUZHINICH (1847 – 1907)

Portrait of K.K.Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich
Necessary Foreword:

The story about the founder of the archaeological museum in Chersonesos Karl Kazimirovich Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich permanently requires enraptured expressions from anyone who is writing it. He was the one who made the most important discoveries in Chersonesos and unearthed almost one third of the ancient city to enrich the State Hermitage Museum in Saint Petersburg with ancient art masterpieces and to supply the science with a huge array of material evidences from the past. His titanic labour that was rewarded with a multitude of finds, his fanatical devotion to the job entrusted to him, his key role in the establishment of the museum on the ruins of Chersonesos, all these merits were celebrated many times, during lifetime of Kostsyushko as well, and made this devotee a venerable figure, a legend, but, as a result, he has almost no real biography. Any attempt of compiling this person biography sees that the evidences from the “pre-Chersonesos” period are extremely small in number and fragmented.

You are reading this small biographic essay that is an announcement of a wide-scale study of the life and labours of the founder of museum in Chersonesos. I continue working on his biography that will be published at these pages soon. The facts known for sure:

Karl Kazimirovich Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich was born on April 20, 1847, in Mogilev, into a family of nobleman of Polish origin who owned a small estate. He grew up in the family estate Novoye Selo (Russian for new village) that was located very close to the modern Belorussian-Latvian border, on the right bank of Western Dvina, at the estuary of Rositsa river *.

View of Dvina river near the former estate of the Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinichs, Novoye Selo
View of Dvina river near the former estate of the Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinichs, Novoye Selo

It was August of 1859, when the twelve-years-old son of titular counselor Nikolay-Karl Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich entered the Preparation Department of the Institute of the Corps of Mining Engineers in St. Petersburg. At that time, it was a boarding school famous for its high educational level; it affiliated mainly children of poor noblemen. In 1865, Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich left Petersburg and retuned back home without finishing his education; as his autobiography tells, he ‘did agriculture in his father’s estate.’ In 1868, he started working in the Department of Dinaburg-Vitebsk Railway as the deputy of chief engineer. From 1879, his life was tied with Sevastopol. He moved to this city because of lung decease and began to work at the other railway (Lozovaya-Sevastopol) department first as a clerk and later as chief bookkeeper-accountant. After leaving this service in 1881, he, owning some estate, purchased house in the city and began to study history of Crimea, as well as became unofficial editor of newspaper called Sevastopol’skiy listok (Russian for Sevastopol paper). In 1882, he organized in Sevastopol the Circle for the lovers of Crimean history and antiquities, with museum and library. Many officials of high ranks became members of this Circle, particularly the city mayor, the governor, the captain of the port, and others.

Having shown himself as a person of stainless honesty and accuracy in business, Karl Kazimirovich was elected deputy director of the City Bank of Sevastopol from January 1885, as well as a member and, later on, chair of the Council of Sevastopol Society for Mutual Loan. From 1885, K.K.Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich was full member of the Imperial Odessa Society for History and Antiquities. He took a great interest in antiquity and edited Sevastopol’skiy listok: Karl Kazimirovich obviously felt too tight at the banker’s desk.

According to the contemporaries’ accounts, doing archaeology was his cherished dream. It is known that Karl Kazimirovich even applied to the Imperial Archaeological Commission with request of being appointed to a vacancy of the director of Kerch Museum. Fortunately to Chersonesos, he was refused of this appointment. When, in 1888, the excavations in Tauric Chersonesos passed under supervision of the Imperial Archaeological Commission, K.K.Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich, being recommended by the Vice President of the Odessa Society V.N.Yurgevich, became superintendent of the works and, later on, the head of the Warehouse of Local Antiquities, archaeological museum, built on the shore of Karantinnaya (Russian for ‘Quarantine’) bay by his insistence.
Warehouse of Local Antiquities
Warehouse of Local Antiquities

He occupied this position for almost 20 years; there he displayed his talent to most full extent and find application for his efforts and abilities. Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich was the one who made large-scale excavations in the ancient city site to make it ‘Russian Pompeii.’ He uncovered residential quarters and streets, shops and workshops, public buildings (including the so-called mint) and richly adorned churches with mosaic floors, water supply system and fortifications of excellent state of preservation. Karl Kazimirovich also organized excavations outside Chersonesos: in vicinity of cape Fiolent and on the shore of Kazach’ya (Russian for ‘Cossack’) bay. Huge number of archaeological finds, the best of which were sent to the Imperial Hermitage Museum for ‘the Most High observation’, attracted czar family’s attention to Chersonesos. During the time of Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich’s directorship, the excavation budget was raised from 2,000 to 10,000 rubles that made Chersonesos the largest archaeological enterprise in the Russian Empire.

By 1892, Karl Kazimirovich Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich was elected member of the Imperial Archaeological Commission, he was full member or correspondent member of many scholarly societies of the period, including Moscow Numismatic Society, Taurida Scholarly Archive Commission, and others. Large-scale excavations of Chersonesos contributed to the development of the science studying antiquities to the most full extent. K.K. Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich’s labours made it possible to publish the books by D.V.Aynalov, Razvaliny khramov (Ruins of churches), V.V.Latyhev, Inscriptiones antiquae orae Septentrionalis Ponti Euxini, and many other volumes, of the same importance. The following excerpt from the memoirs of Karl Kazimirovich’s contemporary, S.P.Shestakov, brilliant scholar and author of Ocherki po istorii Khersonesa v VI – X vekakh po R. Kh. (Essays for the history of Chersonesos from the sixth to tenth century AD), draws vivid portrait of the founder of Chersonesos museum:

…Utterly devoted to his work, this modest worker in his secluded residence on the deserted shore, where busy life of the Greek trading city had been in full swing in former times, was uncovering material and written monuments of its past, step by step; excavations were made under his incessant control and according to his plan to bring very important and unpredicted results. But not only large finds, like the discovery of the ancient Greek city walls below the soil level of the latest Chersonesos, or cross church that was unearthed in 1902, attract attention to his activities as the guardian of the excavations on the site of ancient Chersonesos. The most valuable thing is that he did not see trifles in his beloved labour. Every shard of ancient glazed pottery, every unprecedented fragment of domestic or church utensil from pagan or Christian Chersonesos told him much, due to his many-years-long experience in the work of studying antiquities of Chersonesos, and immediately found its place in this or that section of the small museum on the site of the ancient city ruins, where he collected and classified, with so much care, artifacts of antiquities of Chersonesos from different periods.

I remember my acquaintance with affable and sympathetic master of the excavations in Chersonesos in summer 1903, when I succeeded to use him as a guide in examination of the monuments in Chersonesos, I remember his vivid and fascinating word of Chersonesos and its antiquities, that was on his tongue all the time during our conversations either on the sea shore or in Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich’s small study near his child, his museum of Chersonesos, that was never empty, and its often visitors always met with Kostsyushko-Valuzhinich’s readiness to explain antiquities. It was apparent that this person all lived in his historical and archaeological interests and could not keep them in secret from the people around him.

Only few evidences survived concerning Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich’s private life, because his family archive was lost. It is known that he belong to Roman Catholic religion, he was married to Orthodox Maria Pavlovna and had seven children: three sons (Pyotr, Pavel and Dmitriy) and four daughters (Lubov’, Yelizaveta, Maria and Kseniya).

From time to time, his life became very hard: all that harmed Chersonesos he perceived as his personal drama: building of monastery houses and laying out flowerbeds, construction of artillery batteries on the city site. He struggles as he could, but there also was a struggle against him: one of the abbots wrote denunciations on him, accusing him as a catholic of being a witting enemy to the Orthodox hermitage; the chair of the Archaeological Commission count A.A.Bobrinskiy explained him that the interests of the Military Department are more important than archaeology; venerable scholars, who visited Chersonesos transiently, criticized his excavations as ‘conducted without any definite plan’ and the system of keeping exhibits in the museum. Karl Kazimirovich accurately added all such documents to the files with a note ‘For the future student of the museum in Chersonesos.

Karl Kazimirovich Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich died on December 14, 1907 in Sevastopol, in Red Cross Hospital, of pneumonia. He was buried in the monastery in Chersonesos, as his necrology put it, ‘by Catholic and Orthodox clergy together.’ His grave with tombstone of inscribed marble column fragment survived in the territory of the National Preserve of Tauric Chersonesos. It is located at the alley leading to the sea.
K.K.Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich's grave with tombstone
K.K.Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich's grave with tombstone

K.K.Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich’s scholarly heritage composes large collection of archive materials (more than 5,000 holdings units): manuscript reports for the Archaeological Commission, field journals, photographs and drawings that document excavation routine, correspondence with leading scholarly institutes.

Until now, materials from Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich’s scholarly archive are a source for studying history and archaeology of Tauric Chersonesos. The most interesting part of this archive is published on the pages of this web-site.


© L. Grinenko



B i b l i o g r a p h y

Antonova, I. A. Osnovatel’ Khersonesskogo muzaya (The founder of Chersonesos museum). Krymskiy arkhiv 3 (1997): 57-67.

Grinevich, K. E. Sto let khersonesskikh raskopok (1827-1927) (One hundred years of the excavations in Chersonesos [1827-1927]). Sevastopol, 1927.

Makhov, I. I. K. K. Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich (k godovshchine yego smerti) (K. K. Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich [to the anniversary of his death]). Krymskiy vestnik 290 (14 December 1908).

Rot, V. N. K. K. Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinich. Manuscript, in the Scholarly Archive of the National Preserve of Tauric Chersonesos, file no. 137.



* I would like to thank cordially the student of local lore from Verkhnedvinsk (Republic of Belorussia) Anton Frantsevich Bubolo, who set up for a special expedition to Novoye Selo village, the place where the Kostsyushko-Valyuzhinichs family estate had been located, in order to take the pictures of Karl Kazimirovich’s home area, and supplied me with a number of data for my present research.
©National Preserve of Tauric Chersonesos . 2007 - 2017
[ terms and conditions for use of the materials ]

К.К. Косцюшко-Валюжинич и его археологические отчеты
История одного отчета: 
главная :: биография :: тексты :: рукописи :: фотографии :: чертежи :: эстампажи :: публикации :: гостевая :: о проекте
КАРЛ КАЗИМИРОВИЧ КОСЦЮШКО-ВАЛЮЖИНИЧ (1847 – 1907)

Портрет К.К.Косцюшко-Валюжинича
Необходимое предисловие:

Рассказ о создателе археологического музея в Херсонесе - Карле Казимировиче Косцюшко-Валюжиниче неизменно требует от всякого пишущего о нем восторженных выражений. Именно он сделал в Херсонесе главные открытия, раскопав почти треть древнего города, обогатив Императорский Эрмитаж шедеврами древнего искусства и предоставив в распоряжение науки огромный массив материальных свидетельств прошлого. Титанический труд, вознагражденный обилием находок, фанатическая преданность порученному делу, ключевая роль в устройстве музея на руинах Херсонеса - все эти заслуги, многократно отмеченные, в том числе и при жизни Косцюшко, сделали этого подвижника фигурой почитаемой, легендарной, но, как следствие, почти начисто лишенной реальной биографии. Попытка составить жизнеописание этого человека наталкивается на крайнюю малочисленность и фрагментарность сведений о «до херсонесском» периоде.

Перед Вами краткий биографический очерк, представляющий собой анонс обширного исследования жизни и трудов основателя Херсонесского музея. Работа над его биографией продолжается и вскоре будет опубликована на этих страницах. Вот что достоверно известно:

Родился Николай Карл Казимирович Косцюшко Валюжинич 20 апреля 1847 г. в г. Могилеве, в семье мелкопоместного дворянина польского происхождения. Вырос в имении Новое Село, расположенном в непосредственной близости от нынешней белорусско-латвийской границы, на правом берегу Западной Двины, в устье речки Росица *.

Вид на р. Двину около бывш. имения Косцюшко-Валюжиничей Новое село
Вид на р. Двину около бывш. имения Косцюшко-Валюжиничей Новое село

В августе 1859, в возрасте 12 лет, сын титулярного советника Николай Карл Косцюшко-Валюжинич поступил в приготовительное отделение Института Корпуса горных инженеров в Санкт-Петербурге. В то время это было престижное закрытое военное учебное заведение, славившееся высоким уровнем образования, в него принимали, в основном, детей небогатых дворян. В 1865 г., не закончив учебу, Косцюшко-Валюжинич покинул Петербург и возвратился домой, где, как сказано в автобиографии, «занимался сельским хозяйством в имении отца». В 1868 г. поступил на службу в Управление Динабургско-Витебской железной дороги помощником главного инженера. С 1879 г. судьба его связана с г. Севастополем, куда он переехал по причине заболевания легких и стал работать в управлении другой железной дороги - Лозово-Севастопольской, в должности сначала конторщика, а затем – старшего бухгалтера-счетовода. Оставив службу в 1881 г., он, обладая некоторым состоянием, приобрел в городе дом и занялся изучением истории Крыма, а также стал неофициальным редактором газеты «Севастопольский листок». В 1882 году им был организован в Севастополе Кружок любителей истории и древностей Крыма, с музеем и библиотекой. Членами кружка были многие высокопоставленные лица тогдашнего Севастополя, в т. ч. градоначальник, губернатор, капитан над портом и др.

Зарекомендовав себя человеком безупречной честности и аккуратности в делах, Карл Казимирович был в январе 1885 г. избран товарищем (т.е. – заместителем – Л.Г.) директора Севастопольского городского банка, а также – членом, а позднее и председателем Совета Севастопольского общества взаимного кредита. С 1885 г. К.К. Косцюшко-Валюжинич являлся действительным членом Императорского Одесского общества истории и древностей. Увлечение древней историей, редактирование «Севастопольского листка», общественные обязанности – Карлу Казимировичу явно было тесно за банковской конторкой. :)

По свидетельству современников, занятия археологией были его заветной мечтой. Известно, что Карл Казимирович даже обращался в Императорскую Археологическую Комиссию с прошением о назначении его на вакантное место директора Керченского музея. К счастью для Херсонеса в этом ему было отказано. Когда в 1888 году раскопки Херсонеса Таврического перешли в ведение Императорской Археологической комиссии, К.К. Косцюшко-Валюжинич, по рекомендации вице-президента Одесского общества В.Н. Юргевича, становится производителем работ, а затем заведующим «Складом местных древностей» - археологическим музеем, построенным по его настоянию на берегу Карантинной бухты.
«Склад местных древностей»
«Склад местных древностей»

На этом посту, который он занимал почти 20 лет, в полной мере раскрылся его талант, нашлось приложение силам и способностям. Именно Косцюшко-Валюжинич произвел масштабные раскопки площади древнего городища, превратив его в «Русские Помпеи». Им были открыты жилые кварталы и улицы, лавки и мастерские, общественные здания (в том числе т.н. Монетный двор), богато декорированные церкви с мозаичными полами, система водоснабжения, превосходной сохранности оборонительные сооружения. Производил Карл Казимирович раскопки и за пределами Херсонеса – в районе мыса Фиолент и на берегу Казачьей бухты. Огромное количество археологических находок, лучшие из которых отправлялись в Императорский Эрмитаж «для Высочайшего обозрения», привлекло внимание к Херсонесу царской семьи. Бюджет раскопок был увеличен за время заведования Косцюшко-Валюжинича с 2 до 10 тыс. рублей, что сделало Херсонес самым крупным археологическим предприятием в Российской империи.

К 1892 году Карл Казимирович Косцюшко-Валюжинич был избран членом Императорской Археологической комиссии, состоял действительным членом или членом-корреспондентом многих научных обществ того времени, в том числе Московского нумизматического общества, Таврической ученой архивной комиссии и др. Крупномасштабные раскопки Херсонеса в полной мере послужили развитию науки о древностях. Благодаря трудам К.К. Косцюшко-Валюжинича смогли появиться книги - Д.В. Айналова «Развалины храмов», В.В. Латышева “Inscriptiones antiquae orae Septentrionalis Ponti Euxini” и множество других, не менее значительных изданий. Вот отрывок из воспоминаний современника Карла Казимировича - С.П. Шестакова, замечательного учёного, автора «Очерков по истории Херсонеса в VI - X веках по Р. Хр.» - рисующий живой портрет основателя Херсонесского музея:

«…Беззаветно преданный своему делу этот скромный труженик, в своем уединенном жилище на пустынных берегах, где когда-то кипела бойкая жизнь торгового греческого города, шаг за шагом вскрывая вещественные и письменные памятники его былого; под его неусыпным надзором, по его плану производились раскопки, приведшие к весьма важным и неожиданным результатам. Но не одни крупные находки, вроде открытия стен древнего греческого города ниже уровня почвы позднейшего Херсонеса или крестообразного храма, открытого в 1902 г. привлекают внимание к его деятельности, как блюстителя раскопок на месте древнего Херсонеса. Особенно ценно было то, что для него не было мелочей в излюбленном им деле. Каждый осколок древней поливной посуды, каждый невидный обломок предмета обихода или церковной утвари языческого или христианского Херсонеса, при его многолетней опытности в деле изучения херсонесской старины, говорил ему многое, тотчас находил себе место в том или другом отделе небольшого музея на месте развалин древнего города, где с такою тщательностью были им собираемы и классифицируемы предметы херсонесской древности разных эпох.

Мне вспоминается мое знакомство с приветливым и симпатичным хозяином херсонесских раскопок летом 1903 г., когда мне удалось воспользоваться его руководством при ознакомлении с памятниками Херсонеса, вспоминается его живое и увлекательное слово о Херсонесе и его древностях, не сходивших с его языка во время наших бесед на берегу ли моря или в маленьком кабинетике Косцюшко-Валюжинича, подле его детища – его Херсонесского музея, никогда не пустовавшего, причем частые посетители всегда встречали со стороны Косцюшко-Валюжинича готовность к объяснению древностей. Видно было, что этот человек весь живет своими историческими и археологическими интересами и не может не делиться ими с окружающими».

Совсем немного сведений сохранилось о частной жизни Косцюшко-Валюжинича, так как его семейный архив не сохранился. Известно, что исповедания он был римско-католического, женат на православной Марии Павловне, а также то, что у него было семеро детей – трое сыновей (Петр, Павел и Дмитрий) и четыре дочери (Любовь, Елизавета, Мария и Ксения).

Жизнь его была временами очень трудна: все, что причиняло вред Херсонесу, он воспринимал как личную драму: строительство монастырских зданий и разбивку цветников, возведение на городище артиллерийских батарей. Он боролся, как мог, но и с ним боролись – один из настоятелей монастыря писал на него доносы, обвиняя его, католика, в заведомой враждебности к православной обители; председатель Археологической Комиссии граф А.А. Бобринский объяснял ему, что интересы Военного ведомства превыше археологических; маститые ученые, бывая в Херсонесе проездом, критиковали его раскопки, «ведущиеся без определенного плана» и систему хранения экспонатов в музее. Карл Казимирович аккуратно подшивал все эти документы, снабжая пометкой: «Для будущего историка Херсонесского музея».

Умер Карл Казимирович Косцюшко-Валюжинич 14 декабря 1907 г. в Севастополе, в лечебнице Красного Креста, от воспаления легких. Похоронен был в Херсонесском монастыре, как сказано в некрологе, - «католическим и православным духовенством совместно». Его могила с надгробием, которое представляет собой обломок мраморной колонны с надписью, сохранилась на территории заповедника «Херсонес Таврический». Она расположена на аллее, ведущей к морю.
Надгробие могилы К.К.Косцюшко-Валюжинича
Надгробие на могиле К.К.Косцюшко-Валюжинича

Научное наследие К.К. Косцюшко-Валюжинича составляет обширный архивный фонд (более 5 тыс. ед. хранения) – это рукописи отчетов в Археологическую комиссию, дневники, фотографии и чертежи, документирующие процесс раскопок, переписка с ведущими научными учреждениями.

Материалы научного архива Косцюшко-Валюжинича до сих пор служат источником для изучения истории и археологии Херсонеса Таврического. Самая важная часть его размещена на страницах этого интернет-сайта.


© Л. Гриненко



Л и т е р а т у р а

Махов И.И. К.К. Косцюшко-Валюжинич (к годовщине его смерти) // Крымский Вестник. - № 290 – 14 декабря 1908 г.

Антонова И.А. Основатель Херсонесского музея // Крымский архив. – 1997. - № 3. – С. 57-67.

Гриневич К.Э. Сто лет херсонесских раскопок (1827-1927). – Севастополь, 1927.

Рот В.Н. К.К. Косцюшко-Валюжинич. – В рукописи. – Научный архив НЗХТ, д. 137



* Сердечно благодарю краеведа из г. Верхнедвинска (Республика Беларусь) Антона Францевича Буболо, который отправился в специальную экспедицию на место бывшего имения Косцюшко-Валюжиничей – д. Новое село, чтобы сделать фотографии родных мест Карла Казимировича, а также снабдил меня многими сведениями для моего исследования.
©Национальный Заповедник Херсонес Таврический . 2007 - 2017
[ условия использования материалов ]